Supplier of Federal saddle and tack?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Supplier of Federal saddle and tack?

I hope I am posting this in the correct place. I am looking to purchase a Union issue saddle and tack for my private use, and possible cavalry reenactment use in the future. I want to buy a quality rig. I have searched this forum and found very little on vendors offering complete rigs. I would appreciate recommendations from experienced riders. In searching the net, I found "Shawn's Custom Saddles and Tack" out of San Angelo, Tx. Does anyone have any experience or knowledge of his equipment.

thanks, Frank Crowe

Re: Supplier of Federal saddle and tack?

Frank,
    I am not an expert, but I know Shawn's saddles are not the best. I like Glenn Pier Depot's saddles much more. I have made several of my own using trees from out of business people. Todd Kern and Tom Craig might be able to help you more.
    Jerry Ross
    Withdraw to Fort Donelson Feb 2012

Just a sinner trying to change

Hog Driver
    Lead ,Follow or Get out of the way !

Comment

Hi Frank,

While life and job forced me to have to retire from both the cavalry (after more than 20 years), I still pop in to see what is being said from time to time. As Jerry suggested, you should check out Karl Pepper's work and saddles on his site at Glenn Pier Depot. He has built many for me over the years and has very high standards/quality but still affordable. Here is his site:

Tell Karl that I said "hello" as I have sent many troopers to him over the years.

good luck and enjoy.
      Mark
      Last edited by Mark Choate; 03-02-2015, 10:17 AM.
      J. Mark Choate
      7th TN. Cavalry, Co. D.

"Let history dictate our impressions.......not the other way around!"

Comment

Jerry and Mark, thanks to both of you for the information, I will check out Karl's site.

Frank

Comment

Frank,