Correct buttons for RDII for Longstreet Corp for Chickamauga

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Correct buttons for RDII for Longstreet Corp for Chickamauga

I would like to use English script I buttons on the blue grey Richmond Depot jacket for Chickamauga. So far I have not found any original examples of RDII with those types of buttons on them. Then again, I am no button expert. There is a nice thread on this site showing wooden button on RDII. I would welcome any thoughts on this topic.

Dan Stewart
    WIG/Old Guard

Re: Correct buttons for RDII for Longstreet Corp for Chickamauga

I cannot make any comment of much use here, but there is always a possibility that the uniforms worn by Longstreets men were furnished by North Carolina. I have a copy of a telegram from Longstreet to Vance that reads "Your kind offer of clothing for our suffering troops is recd. We shall be most thankful for such clothing as you can share (Or spare)." Unfortunately it looks like the date is in 1864. In that regard, I am not sure if script I buttons were on them, but as NC was getting both the blue-grey and royal blue cloth from England at the time, it would seem possible. You might do well by seeing what the relic hunters turn up in that area.
    Be aware that there are a few apparent RDIIIs out there that were made as RDIIs and had belt loops and straps removed.
    There is a jacket out there that looks to have script As on it...it may be on this helpful link...http://www.authentic-campaigner.com/...ight=blue-gray
    David Stone

Comment

Also, though it was worn by an officer, here is a possible RDII with script I buttons - but I do see mention of a certain dealer who I do not place absolute trust in...

Last edited by fahnenschmied; 12-22-2012, 12:04 PM.
      David Stone

Comment