Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Impressions for the Border States (Maryland-centric)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Impressions for the Border States (Maryland-centric)

I am a newbie (fresh fish) to ACW Reenacting, but I have been studying the Civil War on and off since Junior High School (30 years now), took a summer course on it for my Bachelor's in History, and have really been getting into the minutiae on various topics: artillery, forts, flags, photography, railroads [especially logistics and tactical employment], and my home state of Maryland.

As I have been letting my family, friends, and co-workers know that I am getting into ACW Reenacting, the inevitable question has been "which side?"

By my signature block below, it's obvious that I joined a Confederate unit, the 1st Maryland Artillery. But why?

Over the past few years, I have been attending ACW reenactments, especially those where Confederate Maryland troops have played a role. Just up the road from where I live is Jerusalem Mill, a place where Harry Gilmor (a Marylander, and Major in the Confederate Cavalry) "requisitioned" supplies and "liberated" horses during his famous raid of July 1864. This event is usually held during the 2nd or 3rd weekend in July (google Jerusalem Mill, great website).