Masonic Photo from Atlanta GA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Masonic Photo from Atlanta GA

I was doing some work with the Atlanta History Center Education Center and I saw this photo among photos they show to school groups. They had no clue what the man was wearing, but i thought it was a pritty cool image of a Mason who lived in the Atlanta area.
    Attached Files
    Marvin Greer
    Snake Nation Disciples

"Now bounce the Bullies!" -- Lt. David Cornwell 9th Louisiana Colored Troops, Battle of Milliken's Bend.

sigpic

Re: Masonic Photo from Atlanta GA

What a great Photograph! looks like alot of fingerprints and some smearing of the image. (is this from handling?) I am a Wet Plate Photographer, and if you work with these photos again, I would suggest that they be shown in a case, or a cover glass should be placed on the image to protect it from future damages..

Comment

Very good! I've have the honor this year as Master of my lodge to preside over two Masonic ceremonies for Union Major James Bridgewater and CS Lt. Col. Thomas W. Napier.

Comment

I think it is in its original case but I do not know how it was smugged
        Marvin Greer
        Snake Nation Disciples

"Now bounce the Bullies!" -- Lt. David Cornwell 9th Louisiana Colored Troops, Battle of Milliken's Bend.

sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by mrgrzeskowiak View Post
          What a great Photograph! looks like alot of fingerprints and some smearing of the image. (is this from handling?) I am a Wet Plate Photographer, and if you work with these photos again, I would suggest that they be shown in a case, or a cover glass should be placed on the image to protect it from future damages..
          It appears that this image is an Ambrotype, but I can't say positively without examining it. It may be a tintype, but it does not appear to be a Daguerreotype, from the poor quality.