Oil for Canteen Stove?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oil for Canteen Stove?

I recently purchased a canteen stove from Trans-Mississippi Depot. This is a wonderful recreation of the original found in the Federal camps near Fredericksburg. I am looking for recommendations on the best oil to use in it. The instructions recommended sweet (olive) oil or lamp oil only, nothing else. I have no experience with sweet oil except for cooking. There are many types of lamp oil on the market. I'd like to use something that burns clean and is hot enough to heat up a cup of coffee.

Has anyone used sweet oil? Recommendations?

Thanks,
    Steve Blancard
    Co. A, 13th Va Inf.
    Steve Blancard
    Corporal
    13th Virginia Infantry, Company A.

Re: Oil for Canteen Stove?

If using lamp oil be carefull not to buy citronella lamp oil.
    Russell L. Stanley
    Co.A 1st Texas Infantry
    Co.A 45th Mississippi
    Co.D 8th Missouri (CS)
    Steelville JayBirds Mess

Comment

Steve,

Use the olive oil. It burns hot enough to split marble, and Don wouldn't send you any BS instructions about one of his products. If you are a little concerned, then take a sample of oil, and burn a bundle of twigs in the back yard. An added benefit, is if someone grabs the olive oil and consumes it, then they aren't drinking liquid paraffin. You may or may not recall the sugar and blackpowder confusion thread a while back, but these things happen...and people talk about MY coffee. Hmpf!

As an aside, it will be nice to represent the 13th Virginia at Crittenden's Farm in a couple of weeks.
      [B]Charles Heath[/B]
      [EMAIL="heath9999@aol.com"]heath9999@aol.com[/EMAIL]

[URL="http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Spanglers_Spring_Living_History/"]12 - 14 Jun 09 Hoosiers at Gettysburg[/URL]

[EMAIL="heath9999@aol.com"]17-19 Jul 09 Mumford/GCV Carpe Eventum [/EMAIL]

[EMAIL="beatlefans1@verizon.net"]31 Jul - 2 Aug 09 Texans at Gettysburg [/EMAIL]