Trouser and drawer fitting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trouser and drawer fitting

Good morning, folks. Let me start off by saying what a great resource this forum has been. I've been a reenactor for years in various periods, but I'm new to the Civil War. I've spent a good year researching prior to making purchases and I've been very pleased with how it's worked out thus far. I purchased a complete set of uniform kits from a highly recommend and well reviewed vendor. I'm friends with a few great seamstresses who were going to put the kits together for me.

The issue shirt and sack coat are spot on. These are not finely tailored suits, nor should they be, but they fit. The problem comes with the lower body garments. I have a 36" waist (natural waist at the navel) so that was the size I ordered. The finished drawers have an internal waist diameter of over 46". The trousers have an internal waist diameter of around 44". To this day (or at least recently) military pants have a few inches of adjustability, but 8" to 10" seems a bit excessive to me. I look like a subway commercial. We can do a little "fitting", but to make the drawers - for example - stay up at all, I'd need to have the buttons attached on my hip. They're that big. And that much fitting is about as farb as just grabbing a Chinese sutler pair. Or maybe I'm wrong...

And that's the question. How much "adjustability" is to be expected in trousers or drawers? 10" oversized? My Hugo Boss designed "marching through Poland" pants are adjustable around 6". I trust the seamstresses; I married one of them. To me there are two possibilities, either I was sent the wrong size or I was sent the right size and my expectations are way off from reality. I'd appreciate any input.

Thanks
    Mike Boring

Re: Trouser and drawer fitting

Hi Mike,

Dan Wambaugh of Wambaugh, White & Co. wrote a pretty good article about this topic a while back call "Waisted Talent." Here's a link to it.