Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What do you strap to the top of your knapsack?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do you strap to the top of your knapsack?

Just curious what if anything, you guys strap to the top of the knapsack. Shelter half, gum blanket, blanket? Thanks.
    John Dunn

Re: What do you strap to the top of your knapsack?

If its gonna be cold, then my greatcoat. Otherwise nothing.
    Mike Barnes

Blanket Collector (Hoarder)
    44th VA / 25th OH

Comment

Thanks. Since you are the blanket collector, which repro blanket is most authentic? I have a nj@@@@@ , and a blanket from S&S of Gettysburg I bought around 4 years ago. I know there are many more such as Wisconsin vet, Matt Woodburn's etc.
      John Dunn

Comment

Just because I'm a collector (hoarder) doesn't mean I'm an expert. I just know your blanket can help keep me warm when its cold at night. You can have it back in the morning and carry it all day.

There are many repro blankets out there. And there are lots and lots of opinions. However based on the 2 you mentioned, the S&S blanket is. It compares very very favorably to originals for weight, color, and has the correct return selvage.
        Mike Barnes

Blanket Collector (Hoarder)
        44th VA / 25th OH

Comment

Thanks for your opinion.
          John Dunn

Comment

I typically carry a blanket roll instead of a knapsack; that said, when scenario requires it, the top of my pack is like that of mike's above. If it's a spring or fall event, a greatcoat will be on top, otherwise usually nothing.
            However I have also carried a shelter half on top with the issued poles wrapped in the middle, and admit that I definitely wouldn't want to do any considerable march with it like that.
            Ryan Schuda
            Co. C, 45th IL / Co. G, 15th TN
            Dirty First Mess

Comment