Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Woolrich?

Gentlemen,

At the risk of getting beat up (again) I am going to ask the following question. I see a lot of reference here to items purchased from Skillet Licker and Chris Sullivan. It seems as though they are held in high regard. I am putting together my Federal impression and am in need of a pair of trousers. What are your opinions of the Woolrich fabric their products are manufactured from? I want to have the best I can within my budget. I did a search on the forums but only came up with one reference to the fabric, hence my question as I have no experience with it. If you are down on the fabric I would appreciate a recommendation as to what you feel is a better representation and where they can be purchased.

Thank you for your time.

Re: Woolrich?

From what I read,Woolrich is 80% wool,20% polyester.Say away from woolrich items.I suggest buying from Daley,he makes the best Fed gear handsdown.They cost about $180 last time I checked,but if that's too much,use the WTB page.You can get a good pair of trousers for little cost.
    Just my $.2
    Cullen Smith
    Cullen Smith
    South Union Guard

"Always carry a flagon of whiskey in case of snakebite, and furthermore always carry a small snake"~W.C. Fields

"When I drink whiskey, I drink whiskey; and when I drink water, I drink water."~Michaleen Flynn [I]The Quiet Man[/I]

Comment

Chris has a great deal of information on his web site explaining his justification for using the Woolrich kersey for trousers:

To sum up his argument, he feels that the Woolrich fabric more correctly represents the color, weave and weight of original kerseys; the trade off for meeting these criteria is that the material is 15% synthetic 85% wool.

He now offers trousers made with Family Heirloom material, but still continues to make both commerical and museum grade trousers in the Woolrich material.