• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• British import Blucher

Were they used in the west any ?

Re: British import Blucher

Owen,

From the terminology that you have used you have found some reference to the Blucher shoe. That name has been used to describe a shoe of a similar form most know as a jefferson shoe/brogan. I am no expert in this field, but have done some research on shoe/boot making of the period.

English shoes were imported into the south by the thousands. And all across the south. I guess the answer to your question would be yes. But, how west were you talking? Footwear was produced by southern manufacturing for the government as well. Virginia, Atlanta, and I believe Houston were shoe manufacturing locations. I have recently found info that Andersonvilles Camp Sumter was intended to be used as a shoe manufacturing facility.

The one surviving english shoe in the NY Military History museum and printed in Davis's book, as well as EOG is a very well made shoe. Captured shoes were actually issued to Fed troops and recieved a positive review from a federal QM officer I believe.

I hope I have helped you, Ken

Ken Irvin
    The Skulkers Mess
    Ken Irvin

Comment

Owen,

Not to detract from Ken's answer, but you will get better results to your questions if you are a bit more specific.

For example, where is "the west?" Depending on your perspective, you could mean the Pacific Coast, the "old west," the western theater of the Civil War, the Department of the West, etc...

I hope that helps
      John Stillwagon

Comment

one of the difficulties is how do you tell it is imported? The english army at the time had individual regiments contract with local shoe makers to make the regiments shoes. Also much of the shoe trade of Boston and Philidelphia made footwear equal or better then english manufacture. Australian merchants prefered boston made riding boots to english depite crown imposed duties.