Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Henry's

Hallo!

This came up on another board, commenting on the event guidelines that the preferred firearms have their modern markings removed...

'Curt, I am not familiar with the BATF laws but would just moving the serial numbers and/or manufacturer stamps to a inconspicuous spot by a professional gunsmith be considered illegal in most states on a Henry?'

I am not a lawyer, but...

At the Federal level:

Sec. 5842. Identification of firearms

(a) Identification of firearms other than destructive devices.:Each manufacturer and importer and anyone making a firearm shall identify each firearm, other than a destructive device, manufactured, imported, or made by a serial number which may not be readily removed, obliterated, or altered, the name of the manufacturer, importer, or maker, and such other identification as the Secretary may by regulations prescribe.

States can vary, however, they typically mirror the Fed laws as a felony. Some make it a misdeanor on the first offense, a felony on the second.

NUG, typically, state's language will mirror the "changed, altered, removed, or obliterated."

I suppose where it can get legally hairy, is whether law enforcement and the courts interpret "changed" as removing the serial number from its location and stamping it anew under the barrel. (But since we are also taking about removing the maker's stamp, etc., it is kind of moot?)

HOWEVER, under Federal law, and the several state laws I have read, this does NOT apply to our 19th and 18th century muzzleloaders.
    BUT, in cases of fire, etc., or theft recovery and identification, having some form of "ID" that shows a particular gun is yours, is helpful.

As I often post... know the Federal laws, but also the state AND local laws where you live.

Curt
    Curt Schmidt
    In gleichem Schritt und Tritt, Curt Schmidt

-Hard and sharp as flint...secret, and self-contained, and solitary as an oyster.