US Pattern Book

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• US Pattern Book

Is anyone familar with the "US Pattern Book" that is floating around out there? I have a well used copy of Confederate Sketchbook, and wondered how the quality of this other document compares.
    Thanks,
    Lindsey Brown
    Pat Brown

Re: US Pattern Book

Out-dated, poorly researched, bad patterns, etc., etc, ad nauseum.
    Scott Cross
    "Old and in the Way"

Comment

Are there any good alternatives, on par with Confederate Sketchbook? I have a Quartermaster's manual, which is a wealth of information, but not quite as handy a reference as the Sketchbook.

Cheers,

Michael
      Michael McComas
      drudge-errant

Comment

Michael,
        An even better question!
        Lindsey
        Pat Brown

Comment

My suggestion is to order a copy of The Columbia Rifles Research Compendium (second edition). It contains detailed information about Federal uniforms and equipment (including some drawings and photographs.

The Watchdog (an AC approved vendor) is taking pre-publication orders. Details can be found in posts at the AC vendor section, or contact me at thedog@watchdogreview.com.

Comment

Originally posted by brown View Post
            Is anyone familar with the "US Pattern Book" that is floating around out there? I have a well used copy of Confederate Sketchbook, and wondered how the quality of this other document compares.
            Lindsey,

Glad to see you posted this in The Sinks.

Bill, Scott, and Jonah Begone gave you excellent advice. Since the latter writes in invisible ink, let me translate, "Run away! Run away!"

That being said, if you want a copy just for the sake of owning one, the title is: