Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Two Girls

Everyone,

Here is a photo of my girlfriends GGG Grandmother, Laura Boyd, as a young girl in rural East Mississippi ca. 1858. On the right is her younger sister Anna. The Boyd's lived in Neshoba county Mississippi, the family owned about $1,000 in real estate and $1,000 in personal estate according to the 1860 census.

Will MacDonald
    Attached Files

Re: Two Girls

Awesome. You're lucky to have such an image.
    [FONT="Book Antiqua"]Carl Anderton[/FONT]

[FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"][SIZE="2"]"A very good idea of the old style of playing may be formed by referring to the [I]Briggs Banjo Instructor."[/I][/SIZE][/FONT]
    [FONT="Palatino Linotype"][B]Albert Baur, Sgt., Co. A, 102nd Regiment, NY Volunteer Infantry.[/B][/FONT]

Comment

I hate to be the bearer of some unfortunate news but...

The image appears to be post-war to me.

Why?

-I admit I'm not an expert in "young girls'" clothing but the sleeves and high necklines appear post-war to me.
      -The fact that the image appears to be a tintype also calls into question its era. See http://www.floridamemory.com/photogr...es/tintype.cfm for more on the period of popularity for tintypes.
      Last edited by Emmanuel Dabney; 10-01-2010, 06:54 AM.
      Sincerely,
      Emmanuel Dabney
      Atlantic Guard Soldiers' Aid Society
      http://www.agsas.org

"God hasten the day when war shall cease, when slavery shall be blotted from the face of the earth, and when, instead of destruction and desolation, peace, prosperity, liberty, and virtue shall rule the earth!"--John C. Brock, Commissary Sergeant, 43d United States Colored Troops

Comment

Originally posted by Emmanuel Dabney View Post
        -I admit I'm not an expert in "young girl's" clothing but the sleeves and high necklines appear post-war to me.