Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from a beginner reenactor

Hello to everyone out there !!

My name is Anna and im just getting started in reenacting !! I am orignially from Ohio and moved out to Montana a year ago. I guess I don't live in an area geared toward civil war reenacting (there were some battles out this way but very far and few. Most reenacting out there is the late victorian western involving cowboys and indians.) We moved out here and it wasn't until after the fact that that I discovered Civil War reenacting. I LIVED IN OHIO ughhhhh!!

I have had a facination with the civil war for as long as I can remember. My prom gown looked like something out of 1862 lol !! I had a hoop and everything. I love everything about the era, the clothes, the respect people had, the values and morales they held dear to them, the clothes (wink). My family swears that I lived back then and am "missing it now" I would wear clothes like that now if it weren't for the strange looks I would get for doing so. Some things I guess you could get away with doing. I have a cape (not period correct) that I wear alot and constantly get compliments on it. And everyone asks where I got my reticule (I carry one all the time). People love different classy things and enjoy seeing something out the norm. Petticoats are still worn and somewhat in fashion. hmmmmmm

Anyhow I am first of all looking for ANY reenactment groups out west (Washington, Idaho, Wyoming, Montana and nearby areas) I am also interested in groups in Ohio as well (I do go back and visit and would love to schedule them around reenactment events).