Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Who was armed with what (at a few battles) ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who was armed with what (at a few battles) ?

Greetings all,

Yes, the topic line is very broad… I am seeking information regarding how regiments were armed at a few battles. Specifically, I am seeking a “who was armed with what” at:

1st Manassas
    Shiloh
    Antietam
    Gettysburg
    Franklin

I know this may be a significant task on my part; trying to take each side’s order of battle and determine each regiment’s predominant armament. This is specific to smoothbores vs. rifled muskets. I’ll post more as I get the orders of battle together. But if you know with certainty (if you can reference, all the better) how a regiment was armed, please remark.

This is not for any profit or gain on my part. I am seeking this as part of a paper I am writing, arguing a point while I am a student here at the Marine Corps Expeditionary Warfare School. While the other 239 Captains in my class are writing on important modern issues facing the USMC and country, I talked the powers that be into letting me write about a Civil War topic.

Out of totally curiosity I was thinking about casualty rates at a few battles, average engagement ranges, and armaments (based on smoothbores verses rifled muskets). I had just reread the 1856 Ordnance study and was looking at accuracy effects and probability of hit issues. This lead to a conversation with a few other history enthusiasts and academic minded Marines while we were walking Antietam during a battle study last month. I now plan to critically debate some causal factors of high casualty rates from the standpoint that it wasn’t all just a result of the minie ball and rifled musket (as popularly taught). There are many layers to peel on this onion, but for starters, I am trying to baseline my position by learning who was armed with what and when…