Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Riding with longarms in the saddle

OK
    This question is one I have been pondering for a long time. When I first got into cavalry (after my forced sabbatical, being stationed in Pearl Harbor); I started riding, and slinging my Enfield over my shoulder. I found it uncomfortable and kind of put me off balance. I now no longer have this problem, I use a sharps and or an 1855 Springfield, which is a more accurate for this region, not the Enfield.

My question is does anyone else have this problem and how are you correcting it?

Again this has been a question I have had for a while but didn't need to explore it because of getting different arms for my impression.
    Thanks
    [U]Andy Miller[/U]
    1st CAlifornia Cavalry Company A
    [I]"Lying down behind the body of my dying animal, I opened fire with my carbine swaring to kill at least one apache" [U]John Teal 1862[/U][/I]

Re: Riding with longarms in the saddle

Andy ,
    I just hold on to my 3 band Enfield . I can't stand the sling either. When doing western cornfed I don't carry a sword or pistol so it is all I have to use. I do rest the butt of the gun on my strirrup, across the pommel when in single file ,on my shoulder to name few ways.
    Jerry Ross
    Withdraw to Fort Donelson Feb 2012

Just a sinner trying to change

Hog Driver
    Lead ,Follow or Get out of the way !

Comment

I carry a Mississippi rifle but added a slide ring and use a cabine sling and snap that I make [advertisment] and prefer this to the over the back method of carry. I never got used to the trigger gaurd digginginto my back and my hat being knocked off. I did also cut 9" off the barrle and stock to make it into a carbine size, and like it so much better. plm
      Save me a place at the fire,

Paul L Muller

Comment

I have had a 42 slung across my back while mounted and just made it work.
        Aka
        Wm Green :D
        Illegitimi non carborundum